What I Read in May| 2017

After what seems like forever (it was probably about 2 years), I walked into my local library about a month ago, and I am so glad I did. I’d forgotten how good it was to be able to pick up books that I would normally have to really debate over because of thinking about their cost, but that is the beauty of a library. It also means that if I don’t enjoy the book, I don’t have to force myself to the end to justify the money I spent on it, I can simply shut the book and return it without feeling guilty for wasting anything.

Because I have rediscovered my local library, I have found myself reading a lot more over the last month or so, and so I thought that I would share with you some of the books that I read in May: 

Hopefully I won’t give any spoilers away, but just in case I am warning you that this post might contain spoilers about these books.

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky

I enjoyed this book, particularly the complicated relationship of Aria and Perry and the ways that they explored and worked around their differences, and I think that I might be tempted to read the next book in the series. Every character within this novel has an interesting back story which you get to discover as you read – I particularly enjoyed finding out about Aria’s genetics, as she herself dealt with new revelations. Despite enjoying this book, I did have some difficulty grasping ‘the world’, the technologies and the aether, but I still enjoyed reading this sci-fi, dystopian YA novel.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park

I did enjoy this book, but I struggled to really connect with it in ways that I have with books in the past. I think what drew me to this book in the first place was the music element that is highlighted on the cover and in the blurb, and I was disappointed at the role this actually played throughout the book – it was hardly mentioned after the first few chapters. I did enjoy the relationship of discovery that these two characters went through together, but there was so much other stuff happening in the background with their home lives that I often felt overwhelmed with information, and everything seemed to move (almost unrealistically) quickly. I do have to say though, the ending of this book was very hard-hitting and touching. 

Lawless by Jeffrey Salane 

Lawless

I enjoyed the concept of this book – the idea of a school for criminal kids – and I have read the similar series, Gallagher Girls (which I loved), previously and so I think I spent most of my time reading this book, comparing the two. I enjoyed aspects of this story, particularly where the most action was involved like the heist, but at some points it seemed slow and I almost couldn’t wait for something to go wrong, so the book would move forward again. There is still a lot that I want to know more about – particularly with regards to everyone’s backgrounds and M’s father, so I may read the next book in the series but I am still undecided.

And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon

And Then We Ran

I loved this book! As you’ll probably know if you’ve read any of my book reviews before, I am a huge fan of books which use different mediums throughout, and this book does just that – combining text messages and emails with the main story text. I also enjoyed the exploration of Megan and Elliott’s genuine relationship as they went on this crazy journey to follow their dreams, and make up for their past. I think I really connected with this book, in that neither Elliott or Megan really know where there future will lead or what they want out of life, but they are trying to make their own way there through every obstacle in their way. 

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder

I really enjoyed this book, despite the fact that I could tell you the ending pretty much from the very beginning – I knew who she really was. I loved this take on what is such a classic and well-known story, particularly enjoying the future world elements with technology and robots being an interesting mix. I found myself loving the character of Cinder and wanting her to prevail in her dreams. I would have loved to have a bit more background on the character, but I’m sure that will come in the rest of the series, which I am hoping to read soon. 

If you have read any of these books, I would love to hear what your opinion of them was.
Also if you have any recommendations of what I should read next, I  would love to hear them.

Sign off

Leave a Reply

