Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

I was scrolling through my WordPress “timeline” (I don’t know what it’s actually called), and post after post was relating to make-up: swatches, new products, make-up looks etc. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining because I enjoy reading these sorts of posts. But it got me thinking a bit more about make-up and the reasons that I personally decide not wear it.

I think for the most part it is laziness. I would much prefer that extra time in bed, than getting up and spending the time thinking about what make-up look to wear and spending the time applying it to a decent standard. Despite that I don’t think I ever made a conscious decision ‘in the beginning’ that I wasn’t going to wear make-up, I just didn’t and over time I wasn’t doing what all my friends were and to be honest I wasn’t really that bothered. 

There is also the secondary reason for my no make-up choice, in that: I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing. How am I supposed to know what colours I need, what ‘look’ goes with the outfit I have chosen, how do people make their make-up look so amazing? No matter how many tutorials I watch on YouTube, blog posts I read about the best products out there (is there ever on right answer for that?), I know that I’d never know enough to be happy with what I did, or tried to do, so I just don’t. 

Plus on top of that, how do people afford a make-up obsession. Make-up, decent make-up, is certainly not cheap, and I can’t imagine how much stuff I probably wouldn’t have gotten the chance to do, because I couldn’t afford it, if I had to think about buying new make-up products every couple of weeks/months (or however often you need to restock). 

And this is not to say that I have never worn make-up. I have. For events like prom and family weddings, as well as ‘stage’ make-up for shows but it is not something that I do on a regular basis. I mean there are always days where I’ve got some big, red spots coming through and I wish I could just reach for a make-up bag to cover them up, but who doesn’t have those days? – but I just have had to learn to deal with the fact that everyone can see that spot but it will be gone before I know it, and I’ll probably thank myself one day for not caking make-up over those impurities. 

There’s a certain feeling that comes with not being a make-up wearer though. When I tell people that I don’t where make-up, I more often than not get a look of surprise and a “really?”. And I’m often met with different emotions by this reaction. The first is that maybe I should be wearing it: is my skin so bad that it needs covering up? Should I “conform” to what is expected of me? Can people not tell I don’t have make-up on? But the other part of my is pleased by the reaction: why should I do what people think I should? 

I often have those days where I wish that I had given it a go, but for the most part I’m glad I didn’t. Who knows maybe one day I’ll change my mind and I’ll become a make-up person, but until then – these are some of the reason that I don’t wear make-up. 

I realise that this post may have become a bit of a ramble, so I apologise for that, and I hope that it still makes sense. I’d love to hear what you think, and if you do wear make-up what your opinions are!

Sign off

5 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

  1. I was always the same and mostly still am. Didn’t wear make up till I was about 20. And even now I don’t wear it on a daily basis. And whenever I try I just can’t do it! It seems so hard and I never know what to buy or what colours! I am starting to experiment more I just wish it was cheaper aha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that’s exactly it! I definitely think I would be more willing to have a go if it was cheaper because then if it didn’t work out I haven’t wasted anything. I watch so many videos on different styles and stuff that I’d like to think if I gave it a go I’d be great at it, but I know realistically that’s not going to happen haha! Good to know I’m not the only one out there 🙂

      Like

  2. Interesting post! And I absolutely respect your point of view! But your post also makes me want to react on certain things :D. 1. I for one love wearing make up, because it makes me feel like I’m in control. When I meet people I know I look the best. I’d get up earlier just to have my hour of make up, which relaxes me… 2. I do understand that it can be overwhelming. But perhaps you’d know what looks good on you if you’d just determine the shape of your face, eyes and your skintone and what color scheme looks best on you. Once you know that, you’ll automatically know what to do. 3. It is indeed expensive. But being a photographer or some type of sport, it also costs a lot of money (outfit, gear,…). You gotta do what your heart desires at the end of the day… Also not everything pricy is good and not everything cheap is bad. You just gotta know. I’d be able to do a full face of make up using only Essence Cosmetics which is almost dirt cheap… I have a couple of high end products, but I mainly love them because of the luxurious packaging. It’s all about trying out different things… Anyways, I’m not saying you should or shouldn’t wear make up, just wanted to react on these topics you mentioned!! Lovely post! xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comments. I absolutely understand where you are coming from and I totally respect your decision and reasons to wear make up. I think for me it’s definitely what you said…overwhelming but that’s not to say that I will never give it a go, and I hope that sometime in the future, I can be happy and confident both wearing and not wearing make up x

      Like

Leave a Reply

