Thirteen Reasons Why, Game of Thrones and More Reviews

As part of my 101 Things in 1001 days, I have challenged myself to watch an episode of a TV programme, watch a film, read a book, and read something on Wattpad, starting with a different letter of the alphabet that I haven’t seen or read before. So, I thought I would write a few reviews of things I have read and watched so far.

This may contain spoilers!

TV

Thirteen Reasons Why 

Genre: Drama, Mystery
Creator: Brian Yorkey
Staring: Dylan Minnette, Katherine Langford, Christian Navarro
Plot (IMDB): Follows the story of teenager Clay Jensen, in his quest to 
uncover the story behind his classmate and crush, Hannah, and her decision
to end her life.

My original intention with TV programmes was to only watch one episode but there is no way I could just watch one episode of this. Everyone has been talking about this show recently so I decided to join in the hype and see what it was all about, and wow! It is such a powerful show, and really highlighted some of the real issues that people face, so much so that some things were difficult to watch. I love Clay’s character and there are so many times where I just want to give him a hug. I still have so many questions though: what happens to Alex? Did he do it to himself or was it someone else? What do Hannah’s parents do with the tapes? Does Bryce get arrested for what he did?
A part of me hopes that one season isn’t all there is, but Hannah’s story has reached an end and it has a feeling of closure that could be ruined by continuing for another season. 

Thirteen Reasons Why

Game of Thrones Season 1 Episode 1 (2011)
Winter is Coming

Genre: Drama, Adventure, Fantasy
Creator: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss
Staring: Emilia Clarke, Peter Dinklage, Kit Harington 
Plot (IMDB): Nine noble families fight for control over the mythical 
lands of Westeros; A forgotten race returns after being dormant for 
thousands of years.
Game of Thrones is another thing thing I watched because of all the hype it has had, but I have to say it really wasn’t my thing. Maybe if I had watched more it would have become clearer, but I struggled to keep up with who was who, and how the different families and stories linked. I’m also not the greatest fan of fantasy stories, so I kept finding myself saying ‘that would never happen in real life’ and that isn’t something I could find myself getting used to. 
Game of Thrones.jpg

Books

Close Your Eyes by Nicci Cloke

IT COULD HAVE HAPPENED ANYWHERE… Southfield High School is nothing special, with it’s good teachers, the bad and the cliques.
IT COULD HAVE HAPPENED TO ANYONE… Aisha and her friends are just like an group of mates. They never thought that someone would come to school with a gun.
IT COULD HAVE BEEN STOPPED… BUT NOW IT’S TOO LATE.

I was really excited for this book but I have to say I was disappointed. I can’t really pinpoint exactly what it was that I didn’t quite like but it the story didn’t reel me in, in the way that the blurb had. It seemed really slow as well, it took a while for it to really get going and by then I had sort of given up and was just going through the motions. However, I did like the way that the book used different mediums to tell the story, including interviews and diary entries, and the description of the shooting and the shooters inner thoughts was so well written and engaging, but it just didn’t have the impact that I hoped it would. 

Close Your Eyes.jpg

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Juliet Young has always written letters to her mother. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave, It’s the only thing that helps Juliet cope.
Declan Murphy is the kind of tough guy that yo wouldn’t want to cross. But while on community service doing landscaping at the local cemetery, he is haunted by ghosts of his own past.
When Declan finds a letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he is sharing his pain with a perfect stranger… Except they’re not strangers, and when real life interferes with their secret life of letters, Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart. 

I loved this book. I couldn’t put it down! It took me about 5 hours to read from start to finish, I was hooked. First of all, I love complicated characters – characters are so much more than what they are perceived to be – and that is exactly what Juliet and Declan are. Their differing attitudes towards each other in reality and in letters made me want to shout at them and realise who it was they were talking to, and reading how the realisation impacts them both individually is a journey for both the characters and the reader. As with Close Your Eyes, I love the use of differing mediums, like instant messages and handwritten letters. 

Letters to the Lost

Wattpad

Bullet by SimplyxJess

“Love’s like a bullet. It’s fast. It’s furious. Sometimes you can’t see it coming. You can run from it. But you can’t dodge it. Unless someone stands in your way…”
Growing up, Callie Tollson had always admired her older brother, Clay, for being exactly who he wanted to be…despite the consequences he faced doing so. With their roles reversed, Callie had always been the one to stand up for Clay when he was in harm’s way. She always thought this was enough. She thought she was able to protect him. That is until he turned the tables and unleashed harm back on those who had done it to him. She couldn’t understand why, being the one who stood up for him the most, she was the one he picked as the receiver for the final bullet in his gun. Now she’s the most feared girl in school with a haunting family tie to keep her stuck in the halls of Riverton High. As she tries to survive the rest of her junior year as the sister of the boy who brought a gun to school, she soon realises she owes nothing to the boy who turned on her and everything to the boy who saved her life.

These reviews seem to follow a bit of a theme: following tragedies set in a high school scenario – and this book is no different. I really enjoyed this story and the emotional roller coaster Callie had to go through to deal with what had happened: what her brother had done and how what she had done had impacted his decisions. It is written in a way that I almost can feel what Callie is feeling in the moment and the mix of emotions that must be running through a person in that situation – and the aftermath of everything. 

If you have read or watched any of these let me know what you thought, and if you have any recommendations for anything to watch and read let, please comment below. 

Sign off

One thought on “Thirteen Reasons Why, Game of Thrones and More Reviews

Leave a Reply

