50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind: Part 2 (101 Things in 1001 Days)

This is part two of the 50 Questions that Will Free Your Mind. You can check out Part One here.
These questions were taken from Marc Chernoff’s blog.

  1. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

This is a difficult one, but I would probably say lose all my old memories – although I’m not sure if this means just personal things or everything like being able to talk and all of those sorts of things. Memories can be made again, but what would be the point of anything if you couldn’t make new memories – there wouldn’t be much you could do at all. But my old memories have made me who I am today, and it would mean forgetting people who are no longer with us, and so it is a difficult choice.

  1. Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?

I guess there is no way to know the truth without someone challenging it at some point, but there are things I would consider the truth that I wouldn’t say I have challenged

  1. Has your greatest fear ever come true?

Not yet, but who knows. I hope it doesn’t.

  1. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?

I don’t really remember a specific time 5 years ago and that in itself tells me how important it was (not very) but in that moment it is what really matters.

  1. What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?

I think the childhood memory that I remember most and remember being really happy is the millennium (New Year 2000) and it is particularly special because it was a big get together of lots of the people I grew up with and everyone was celebrating.

  1. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

I recently passed my driving test (!!) so that was a pretty big and special moment for me.

  1. If not now, then when?

I’m not really sure what kind of answer this question is expecting

  1. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?

Just because you haven’t achieved ‘it’ yet, doesn’t mean that you haven’t achieved anything so there could be ‘things to lose’

  1. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

Yes, sometimes it’s just being in a particular persons company – and sometime talking nonsense with someone is the best feeling

  1. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?

I wish I had an answer!

  1. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?

I think there are some things we can be pretty sure on but without a doubt, I’m not convinced. Especially when good and evil are really affected by people’s motives behind their actions and that’s what really impacts how “good” they are.

  1. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?

I don’t know really. I don’t think I would – because the money is going to run out eventually no matter how much you save.

  1. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?

More work I enjoy doing, because then it wouldn’t be like work and I would actually want to be doing it rather than it seeming like something I simply have to do

  1. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?

No because every day is different despite the number of similarities – you can never live the same day twice.

  1. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

I’m not sure. I’ve always been someone who is over cautious, so it is not very often I take a complete stab in the dark no matter how much I believe in something

  1. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

As many people as I could, but my immediate family, and my close friends would be on the top of the list, and then I would see as many members of my extended family as I could.

  1. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?

No. Because being rich and famous isn’t everything.

  1. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

Truly living means doing more than just going through the motions – it means doing things that you love, stepping out of your comfort zone and taking chances.

  1. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?

I don’t think that there is a specific set time, I think that there is just a gut feeling when you know that something is the right thing to do.

  1. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?

Because there are always new mistakes to make

  1. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

This is difficult – I think I would probably be more openly myself and less shy when meeting people. I would also probably think less about what I look like and what I’m wearing – maybe even go out in my pyjamas J because I wouldn’t be judged for it

  1. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?

Recently – because I have had a cold and my breathing has been so heavy because I’m so bunged up

  1. What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?

I’m probably not as expressive about the things I love as I could be. I’m not one of those people who tell their parents every day that they love them because they know I do, for example. I think with other things as well, my actions are likely to express my love for things

  1. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?

I imagine that I will remember the “special” moments, like passing m driving test but the particulars and current everyday routine will probably be a distant memory

  1. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

I hope that I am making them for myself and I feel like I am, but there are always going to be guiding hands suggesting the “right path”, whether we like or want them.

———–

I’d love to know your answers to any of these questions. 

sign-off

Leave a Reply

