Week 19 – My OCD Habits

“OCD” stands for “Obsessive Compulsive Disorder” and can be a serious problem, which affects people so much they can’t live a normal, enjoyable life. But for a lot of people OCD refers to something that they obsess about, like things having to be a particular way or frequently repeating the same processes. 

I have a quite a few things I would consider myself OCD about, but I’m only going to list a few here:

  • Plug sockets being left on.

I can’t handle plug sockets being left on if there is nothing plugged into it, and I often have to walk around rooms to turn them of. I was about halfway through an exam at university, and I noticed a plug socket on without anything in it, and it completely distracted me for the rest of the time, as I just wanted to get up and switch it off. 

  • Checking the door is locked

I do this a lot, where I have to check multiple times that I have locked a door properly. I remember once turning round and walking back home for about 10 minutes because I wasn’t 100% sure I had locked the door – I’m definitely going to have to get a door that automatically locks when you shut it when I have a place of my own. 

  • The cutlery in the drawer all being in the right place and facing in the same direction

I don’t know why I find this such a big thing, but it really frustrates me picking something out and it not being the thing I want because it had been put back in the wrong place. 

 

What would you say your OCD habits are?

sign-off

Leave a Reply

