50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind: Part 1 (101 Things in 1001 Days)

Answering the 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind came up as a suggested goal for my 101 Things in 1001 Days challenge, and it sounded intriguing so I decided to give it a go. The questions I found are by Marc Chernoff and are on his blog

This post is just the first 25 questions:

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I think I would be 18, and then I could have another go at University and do all those things I wish I had done, while I was away from home and think more about preparing for the future.

  1. Which is worse, failing or never trying?

I think in the long run never trying is worse as you will always wonder ‘what if’ but in “that” moment of failure, failing definitely feels worse

  1. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Because more than anything we do what is expected of us, whether we like to do them or not

  1. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

The answer to this is unfortunately, probably. Even now, I say that I will do something that I never so, so it is likely that as more situations arise this will become a common occurrence

  1. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

Equality and the way that people are impacted as a result of not being seen as equals and having equal opportunities

  1. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

Something that made other people happy! In this instance I think I would love to work for one of those charities/companies that make people’s dreams come true

  1. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

In my current situation, it is probably more the latter but I would say both.

  1. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

Everything would happen so much more quickly. I think I would pursue my dreams with more vigour and be more active in looking for “the one”.

  1. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

As someone who has just come out of the education system, I would say I haven’t had the great deal of control over the steps my life has taken: school, college, university; but I think and hope that I have had control over the person I have become while participating in these stages of my life.

  1. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

This was a hard one. I would like to think that it is both, if I choose to do the right things, I want to do those things right. But I imagine in the situation I focus on wanting to do something right if I believe it to be the right thing to do. So I do think both.

  1. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticising a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?

I think I would politely interject that this hasn’t been my experience of this person and that we actually get on very well and I would consider them a friend, and hope that they changed the conversation, and hopefully reconsider their opinion on the person.

  1. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

Oh wow, there is so much you could say, but I think the most important thing I would chose to say is just be yourself. No matter what people say or do, or what everyone else around you is doing, follow your own path and be who you are and do what your heart tells you.

  1. Would you break the law to save a loved one?

I was recently reading a book where the main character faced this kind of dilemma, and I think my answer is the same as it was then. I don’t think you can know what you would do until you are put in that situation where you really do have to make the choice.

  1. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

I imagine that there have probably been times where I have looked at something and not thought much of it, then looked again and seen it for how creative and clever it really is, but I don’t think I would’ve ever classed it as insanity.

  1. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I’m really struggling to think of something for this: I know I tie my shoelaces differently to a lot of people but I wouldn’t say most people; I also have a strange way of tying my hair up but again I wouldn’t say it’s probably different to most people but it’s all I can think of.

  1. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?

Because everyone is, thankfully, different and the world would be very boring if we were all happy about the same things.

  1. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?

One thing I haven’t done but really want to do is go travelling, and there is a lot holding me back but mainly the funds, someone to go with and the confidence to just up and go.

  1. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?

Probably. I’m definitely one of those people who hold onto things for a long time, and I constantly beat myself up over them, even if I shouldn’t and they should no longer be impacting me.

  1. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

Australia – as a long term, I wish it could happen, because it is somewhere I have always dreamed of going, and I would love the weather. But on a more realistic note, I would love to move back to where I went to university.

  1. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?

No I don’t because I’m not a huge fan of them and I worry that if I push it more than once it could stop altogether and break, and I’d rather not be stuck in a lift (elevator). But also I don’t think it makes them faster at all.

  1. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?

I think that I would rather be a joyful simpleton, especially if it meant that I rarely had to worry about anything and I was happy, despite the life I was living.

  1. Why are you, you?

I don’t think there is a simple answer to this question. There is so much that affects what makes me ‘me’: my parents and upbringing, society as a whole, my friends and the people that aren’t my friends, I bet my genes had something to do with it too and so much more.

  1. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

Simply, I hope so. I don’t think that you can expect things from a friend without offering them the same.

  1. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?

Neither would be ideal, but I think the worst would be losing touch with someone who lives right near you, as it shouldn’t be much effort to try and make contact, like there is with someone who lives far away. Although I know from personal experience, that it is easy to lose touch with someone close, while still being in contact and friends with someone far away.

  1. What are you most grateful for?

There is so much I am grateful for, but the main things are my friends and family and all the opportunities that I have had, including being able to go to university.

So that’s the first 25 questions. Hopefully the rest will be up next weekend. 

I’d love to hear what your answers for some of these questions would be, so let me know in the comments. 

sign-off

Leave a Reply

