What I Watched in January – Reviews

This is some of the stuff that I have watched this month. I’ve seen a few of this type of post recently and I thought I would give it a go – especially because I love reviewing stuff. 

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015)

Genre: Action, Science Fiction, Thriller 
Age Rating: 12A
Director: Wes Ball
Staring: Dylan O'Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Jacob Lofland
Plot (IMDB): After having escaped the Maze, the group now face a new set 
 of challenges on the open roads of a desolate landscape filled with 
 unimaginable obstacles.

After having watched the first film a few months ago, I was intrigued as to how the story would progress, and although it was interesting I wasn’t overly impressed. Once again it was a pretty predictable plot line, with little in the terms of character development, except for Thomas. Personally, after watching every episode of Teen Wolf recently, I also had difficulty seeing Dylan O’Brien playing a character other than his much loved Stiles Stilinski, although he does portray the character of Thomas very well, and you inadvertently find yourself routing for him. 

maze-runner-scorch-trials

 

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Genre: Action, Science Fiction, Adventure 
Age Rating: 12A
Director: Anthony and Joe Russo
Staring: Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan
Plot (IMDB): Steve Rogers teams up with a fellow Avenger and S.H.I.E.L.D 
 agent,  Black Widow, to battle a new threat from history: an assassin 
 known as the Winter Soldier.

I got halfway through watching this film before I realised that I hadn’t watched the first Captain America movie, although having watched The Avengers and its sequel (and doing a quick internet search), I knew enough about the character of Steve Rogers to understand what was going on. I really enjoyed the film, and particularly the ever-evolving partnership between Steve and Natasha Romanoff, and Steve’s battle over his discovery about Bucky and what he’s become. 

captain-america-winter-soldier

 

Teen Wolf Season 6 Winter Finale (2016)
     Riders on the Storm

Genre: Action, Comedy, Drama
Creator: Jeff Davis
Staring: Dylan O'Brien, Tyler Posey, Holland Roden
Plot (IMDB): A somewhat awkward teen is attacked by a werewolf and inherits 
  the curse himself, as well as the enemies that come with it.

The main word that came to mind while watching this episode was ‘finally! I love Stiles’ character and so I’m so glad that he is back, and that Stydia (Lydia and Stiles) has at last happened 🙂 . The wild hunt plot arc was finally concluded and I thought the way in which the story was closed was really well done. But more than that I loved the ending of this episode, in that it was almost like the boys were back to where it all started, despite everything that has changed. I cannot wait for the last ten episodes, although I can’t believe we have to wait until the summer for them. 

teen-wolf-s6-ep10

Supernatural Season 1 Episode 1 (2005)
Pilot

Genre: Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Creator: Eric Kripke
Staring: Jared Padalecki, Jensen Ackles, Jim Beaver 
Plot (IMDB): Two brothers follow their father's footsteps as 
  "hunters" fighting evil supernatural beings of many kinds including
  monsters, demons, and gods that roam the earth.

This the first time I had ever watched any Supernatural and I’m not really sure what I thought of it. The story-line and the possible progressions and plot lines intrigued me but I don’t feel like I need to immediately need to watch the next episode because I’m hooked, like I have been with shows in the past. I thought the relationship between Sam and Dean was great and you can just imagine how it is going to develop in future episodes. I might give Supernatural another go in the future as I did enjoy it, but it is not on top of my must watch list. 

Supernatural S1 E1.jpg

Have you seen any of these films or shows? What did you think?
Do you have any recommendations of other things I could watch? 

Also please let me know what you thought of this format/type of post. Do you want to see more of these type of posts (e.g. reviews of film etc.)?

sign-off

Leave a Reply

