Christmas Baking | Blogmas 2016 Day 10

As you may now I have recently discovered a love for baking, and so it was inevitable that over this Blogmas period I would do some Christmas themed baking. And so yesterday I made some gingerbread, with a recipe I took from Tanya Bakes (by Tanya Burr), although I did make a few alterations.

Tanya Bakes.jpg

Ingredients:

150g unsalted butter
150g dark muscovado sugar (I didn’t have this so I used soft brown sugar instead)
2 eggs
3 tablespoons golden syrup
400g plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I didn’t have this)
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (Because I didn’t have the nutmeg I added a whole teaspoon of ginger)

For the icing:
200g icing sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
(I altered this a bit as I used a variety of colours of icing as well as some icing pens I already had)


 

Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas Mark 4/350°F. Line baking trays with grease-proof paper (I had to use 3 trays in the end).

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and golden syrup and combine well, then mix in the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and ginger to make a smooth dough.

dough

Roll out the dough on a floured surface to the width of about 3-4mm (we found that mine were a bit thick). Cut out shapes of your choice, until you’ve used all the dough, and arrange them on the baking tray. (If you were following the recipe exactly here you would place a hole in each biscuit to use them as tree decorations).

before-baking

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes until golden. Transfer onto a wire rack and leave to cool completely.

after-baking

Mix 1 tablespoon of warm water at a time into the icing sugar, until you have a thick, pipeable icing. Transfer into a piping bag, with the thinnest nozzle, and decorate your biscuits. (I also used pre-brought icing pens.)

They didn’t quite decorate the way I had hoped, but I think that the reindeers look cool.

What do you think? Let me know if you use this recipe and what yours looked like. I’d also love any more Christmas themed recipes you have used.

blogmas-sign-off

Leave a Reply

