Gossip Girl

Genre: Drama, Romance
Staring: Blake Lively, Leighton Meester, Chace Crawford, Ed Westwick, Penn Badgley
Summary (IMDB): Privileged teens living on the Upper East Side of New York can hide no secret from the ruthless blogger who is always watching.

gossip-girl-2

Over the last few weeks, I have re-watched this show from beginning to end. Having only previously watched odd episodes from a variety of seasons, I decided that I wanted to watch it in it’s entirety – particularly looking for the clues that led to the final reveal of who was gossip girl and how everything had led up to that final episode (which I had seen before).

I think that some of my favourite story lines throughout the six seasons include the aftermath of Dan’s book and how his relationships are affected because of it, but also his social standing. Another story line which I was hooked to was that of Lily and Rufus’ son Scott and the journey from Rufus discovering that he had another child to Scott’s adopted parents lying about his death and Scott’s reveal to the family.

Relationships were a key factor within this series in all sense of the word: romantically,  friendships and family. The love triangle between Serena, Dan and Nate was a particular favourite relationship which kept me hooked to find out who Serena would chose – or not get to chose as was the case. Despite that Blair and Chuck were definitely the couple that I ‘shipped’ throughout the seasons, because despite all the scheming and drama between them it is clear that they were made for each other.

Chuck and Blair.jpg

The sets and places used play a significant role particularly in terms of representing the differences between the ‘elite’ characters of Blair, Chuck, Serena and Nate in comparison to the ‘outsiders’ – Dan, Jenny and Vanessa. The setting of New York was also an appeal to me as a viewer as it is a place I have always dreamed of visiting and the architecture and beauty is often shown.

However unrealistically, I love that the series finishes with the characters achieving their dreams – jobs, relationships and (somehow) they are all still friends.

Gossip Girl.jpg

Have you ever seen Gossip Girl? What did you think? Let me know. And if you haven’t seen it, I would definitely recommend it.

Stacey
xx

Leave a Reply

