The Flash Season 3 (Episode 1 – 5)

WARNING – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!

Genre: Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Drama
Staring: Grant Gustin, Candice Patton, Danielle Panabaker
Summary (IMDB): Barry Allen wakes up 9 months after he was struck by lightning and discovers that the bolt gave him the power of super speed. With his new team and powers, Barry becomes "The Flash" and fights crime in Central City.

Episode 1 – “Flashpoint”

I have to say I had been looking forward to this episode for so long and I was not disappointed, although I think I have as many questions to answer after watching as I did beforehand. The return of old characters, including Eobard Thawne, and the alternative relationships with some character favourites were the setting for this first episode – the result of Barry’s decision to save his mother. I think my favourite moments of this episode include Cisco’s alternative timeline as the “richest man in America”, as well as Iris’ recognition that her and Barry have a connection, even though in alternate reality. I can’t wait for the next episode, and I really hope it answers more questions, including what has happened to reality’s Iris! 

The Flash Ep 1.png

Episode 2 – “Paradox”

This episode was full of answers (finally!) and action, and I loved it. Seeing Barry stumble through this new timeline that he has created, encountering different relationships and new characters. I am a huge fan of Tom Felton, and I’m so excited to see what comes of his character, and I am always happy to see crossovers between shows, and I cannot wait to see more of Barry’s impact on the Arrow team. Also like any other Flash episode I have so many questions waiting to be answered: What is going to happen to Caitlin? Who is Alchemy and what other villains may he ‘create’? I am definitely looking forward to next week. 

The Flash Ep 2.jpg

Episode 3 – “Magenta”

After watching trailers for this episode, I could not wait for the return of Dr Wells and Jesse – particularly because Jesse is now a speedster. It was great to see Jesse get involved in heroics with Barry and them work together to stop a new meta-human. I do wonder though whether Jesse’s powers would have always developed from being hit by the particle accelerator in last season or whether this is another consequence of Barry’s flashpoint alternate timeline. Also in this episode was Barry and Iris’ first date, which was very sweet – at least the second attempt at it was – and I can’t wait to see how their relationship develops. The character of Magenta was also interesting to see her motives behind her actions, as well as learning more about Alchemy and how the two timelines link. I hope that in the not to distant future Wally as Kid Flash and Caitlin developing into Killer Frost are further explored. 

The Flash Ep 3.jpg

Episode 4 – “The New Rogues”

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the villains Mirror Master and Top in this episode, including his back story involving Leonard Snart and and the teamwork with Jesse and Barry required to defeat them. Although I normally love Iris and Barry’s relationship and it’s dynamic, I wasn’t a fan of the focus on Barry’s awkwardness about kissing her in front of Joe. It made me feel as awkward as Barry was supposedly feeling and didn’t really seem necessary within this episode. I did however enjoy the development of Jesse and Wally’s relationship, however short -lived, and particularly how this will affect them in the long run. Despite all this, the best part of this episode for me was Caitlin being forced to use her powers to save Barry and how this has appeared to start her process into further transforming into Killer Frost – and although I cannot wait for this development I hope that it does not effect her relationships with the team too much negatively as I am loving the team dynamic at the moment. 

The Flash Ep 4.jpg

Episode 5 – “Monster”

This episode focuses more on the core characters rather than a new meta-human, and I really liked this. Two of my favourite characters were explored in more detail: Caitlin and Julian. For Caitlin it is taking a look at her relationship with her mother in conjunction with her Killer Frost powers becoming more prominent and difficult to control. And for Julian, it was great seeing him and Barry finally starting to make some progress towards becoming friends, as well as finding out more about his background and why he is the way he is. One thing that I am still unsure about, just like Cisco, is the introduction of the new Wells. I loved the Earth 2 Wells and I think that I am still not used to the differences between the two, but also the differences that he shows between the worlds, as well as his dishonesty about his real self. Although I loved this episode and the focus on the characters, I hope that we soon get some answers about Alchemy and what ‘he’ is trying to achieve.

the-flash-ep-5

Are you watching this season? What do you think so far? 

Leave a Reply

