The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner is a film that I have wanted to see for a while, but just never seemed to get round to it or be in the mood for that genre of film when I was looking for something new. Having also heard mixed reviews about it, I wasn’t sure whether I would enjoy it or not. However, I finally watched it a few days ago, and I was pleasantly surprised. OK, it wasn’t one of the best films I’d ever seen but it was a lot better than the expectations I had set for it.

If you haven’t seen it, IMDB summarises the plot saying: ‘Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) is deposited in a community of boys after his memory is erased, soon learning they’re all trapped in a maze that will require him to join forces with fellow “runners” for a shot at escape.’

Despite there being arguments that the film holds many similarities to other dystopian, science fiction thrillers, including The Hunger Games and Divergent series – a statement I would definitely agree with, I was hooked to find out more about the origin story behind the maze and Thomas’s memories, including the reason for the test and why they sent Thomas and Teresa into ‘The Glade’.

I think the thing that I enjoyed the most about the film was the developing relationships between the characters, particularly between the boys and Teresa, as well as Thomas’s brotherly relationship with Chuck. However, this, at points, was outweighed by the predictability of the plot. Despite that, I think that I will be watching the second movie in the series in order to resolve some of the unanswered questions.

Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller, Action
Age Rating: 12A
Director: Wes Ball
Staring: Dylan O'Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Will Poulter

Overall I enjoyed the film, despite its predictability and stereotypical plot line.

Have you seen The Maze Runner? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

