The Job Search

Having recently completed my undergraduate degree, it has meant that in recent months I have been on the hunt for a job. A job that means the start of the rest of my life, or at least that is what it feels like.

I made the choice to study media when I went to university as I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do after I had finished, and so doing the general subject that I enjoyed meant that I was keeping my options open for when I graduated and had to pick the career path I wanted to follow. The problem is that even after three years of studying a subject, that I have loved, I still don’t know where I want to go with my life.

I have been applying for jobs over the last few months, looking for things that interest me and I have found myself particularly focusing on the areas of marketing and social media. But, as expected, these jobs require experience in their area, which is unfortunately something I don’t have. It then becomes an endless cycle: if no-one will hire me because I have no experience, how am I expected to gain experience. It becomes frustrating, reading job descriptions that sound like exciting opportunities that really interest me, only to read on and find that they require at least a years experience in a position similar.

I’ve found myself often wanting to give up, felling like I’m stuck in a rut, that this job I can’t get is supposed to be the beginning of the next step of my life. It’s hard to imagine what position I could be in in a few years. Maybe I could have found that dream job, that I know I’ll want to do for the rest of my life (no matter how scary that is to think about), or maybe I’ll be working somewhere, waiting for that opportunity to knock on the door. Who knows where I’ll be.

But right now I know that no matter how hard it gets, no matter how many rejections stand in the way, I just need to keep going on the job search, because who knows when the right thing will come along… (I just hope I don’t have to wait to much longer :))

Stacey
xx

Leave a Reply

